On turning Farrty-Farr (We fall into an Irish accent around here sometimes)

I don’t have much to show for my life so far, but I’m farrty-farr as my love likes to say it and I have always been a fan of the number 4 and Irish accents.

I spent some self-pitying hours yesterday recounting what I don’t have: no land, nor house with swimming pool, not even a hot tub;

no career to speak of or decent income; no more book and movie collections, no great wardrobe or closet full of shoes. No studio of my own. No existing body of work , save the one piece I just took out of the kiln last week. Whine, whine, single salty tear roll down my cheek, big deal.

Because I DO have four amazing and wonderful children, a wonderful man who wants to marry me in July, and many, many incredible and wonderful friends. I mean amazing people, who actually consider me their friend! They are so great, and I am so very lucky. I have a master’s degree, something I worked hard to obtain, and I do have a couple of jobs, in which I get to teach and work in a clay studio. I smell like coconut after my shower. This could go on a long time, and I will continue all the rest of my birthday today to recount the good things.

Thank you, reader, you are the roses on my cake!

About genieearle

I make things in my tiny studio called Claywise, as I try to understand the world I live in, and what it means to be human. I have 4 amazing offspring who are making their own paths, and I am currently an outpatient counselor at a drug and alcohol rehab center, where we do expressive arts in group therapy. View all posts by genieearle

One response to “On turning Farrty-Farr (We fall into an Irish accent around here sometimes)

Leave a Reply

