Ken and Genie got married: a Mossy love story

Under a green canopy of leaves, and standing on carpet of moss, we did.

Off the grid.

On his family’s inheritance, a parcel of Kentucky land…

I suppose it was a little off-beat, not your usual fanfare of processional and wedding party and flowers and subsequent price tag, but… What makes a better background than verdant woodland, and what better flowers than the queen ann’s lace and daisies and ferns? What better celebration than with those gentle few who watched you grow up and make mistakes and stumble on, and love us still?

It was perfect.

It was hot, even in the shade, for a while, but that was the consequence of a July wedding.  The drought kept us from setting off fireworks and wish lanterns.  The cake started to melt, so I had to spread it out horizontally, rather than vertically!

Delicious, though, like our story. We met in high school. By my senior year, he had become my best friend. He didn’t get up the nerve to say that he liked me more than friends, and I kind of knew, but… you know.  One day we talked about the future, and he said he thought he would end up being a bum in New York city. I refused to indulge him.

“No.  No you won’t, and if you try, I will come find you and get you out of there.”  In my heart I swore it, and that was when I knew, I loved him too. He made me a key chain that I carried all the time.

But we graduated.

And 6 months later while waiting for my date I saw him across a crowded lobby, in his leather jacket with his leather-clad buddies, and I saw our paths separate, and felt a sad tug on my heart.

And years later whenever I had the chance to visit NYC, I thought of him.  I couldn’t shake the irrational feeling that I should look for him, in case he was there.  It was a promise I made to my girl heart.

And here, after all those years of wondering….my vow fulfilled.

I wish we could have a had a troubador, or an accordion-player, or a guy with a guitar.  I dreamed one night that a van pulled up to our wedding and an entire band got out and played for us….but it didn’t happen.

The food was marvelous, thanks to my son, my daughters and their boyfriends, who braved the heat to set it all up that afternoon.

(I was too excited to eat more than a cucumber sandwich, but it was the best one I’ve ever had.)

So it happened that on a night in July, under the trees and standing on a carpet of moss….Kenny and I rescued each other.

Its an old story, but it still happens.

About genieearle

I make things in my tiny studio called Claywise, as I try to understand the world I live in, and what it means to be human. I have 4 amazing offspring who are making their own paths, and I am currently an outpatient counselor at a drug and alcohol rehab center, where we do expressive arts in group therapy. View all posts by genieearle

Leave a Reply

