Fig Brownies

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Now, the waiting.

To take my mind off the possibility of rejection, I made fig brownies

259

(I like fig newtons, I like brownies, so…)

I adapted a recipe for dried cherry brownies, to this:

1/2 cup of unsalted butter

1/4 cup of coconut oil

3 oz. (2/3 cup) unbleached all-purpose flour; more for the pan
2 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2-1/2 oz. (3/4 cup) unsweetened natural cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. table salt

1/2 cup of chopped dried mission figs

1/2 cup of wine (or port, amaretto, bourbon, rum…or whatever sounds good.  I used wine, but I think amaretto would be amazing.  I added some almond extract to the batter, I was so sure of it).

 

1) Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 350° F. Butter and flour a 9-inch-square metal baking pan, tapping out the excess flour.
2) Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Remove the pan from the heat. Whisk or stir in the sugar, followed by all four of the eggs and the vanilla. Stir in the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt, starting slowly to keep the ingredients from flyin gout of the pan and stirring more vigorously as you go. Stir until the batter is smooth and uniform, about 1 minute.
3)  Stir in the wine/amaretto soaked figs, along with any remaining liquid from the saucepan. Spread the batter into the prepared baking pan, smoothing it so it fills the pan evenly. Bake until a toothpick or a skewer inserted 3/4 inch into the center of the brownies comes out with just a few moist clumps clinging to it, about 40 minutes. Let the brownies cool completely in the pan on a rack.
I’m telling you.  These are fantastic. But maybe only if you like figs and chocolate.
fig brownie
About genieearle

I make things in my tiny studio called Claywise, as I try to understand the world I live in, and what it means to be human. I have 4 amazing offspring who are making their own paths, and I am currently an outpatient counselor at a drug and alcohol rehab center, where we do expressive arts in group therapy. View all posts by genieearle

2 responses to “Fig Brownies

Leave a Reply

