I’ll Be Around

I had forgotten how much I enjoyed Yo La Tengo. (Thank you broken windshield wiper/rainy day/DJ on 88.1).  I remember them as a stepping stone to Wilco back in the UNC-Charlotte days, and then I left them behind like a hoodie on a warm day .
Brandon Boan played them in the studio from 2002-2005, and I think he had all of their albums. He had all of Modest Mouse, I know, because we listened to every song on a trip from Baltimore to Charlotte, our tired group hungover from NCECA. I took off my boots somewhere in Virginia, and my sweaty feet in wool socks stank up the suburban, but the music was good.

I love this video so much. I love the layers of lyrics and the over-all theme of a recipe. This is how I feel, when I have your attention: that I must lay all the scattered hairs of thought together, quickly, and also let me show you this recipe that I want you to try, its so good. Because I don’t know when I will have your attention again. One of us might be going away, getting locked up somehow.

I love the lyrics on the cabinets.

I don’t miss Brandon, the way I miss other people in my life.  Maybe because he is somehow infused into my art practice and my music choices.  He taught me how to text.  He taught me to re-think my prejudices. Maybe because no matter what clay studio I work in, I feel like he is around.

About genieearle

I make things in my tiny studio called Claywise, as I try to understand the world I live in, and what it means to be human. I have 4 amazing offspring who are making their own paths, and I am currently an outpatient counselor at a drug and alcohol rehab center, where we do expressive arts in group therapy. View all posts by genieearle

Leave a Reply

